Our History

History of District of Columbia Chapter

A group of Fayetteville State University Alumni met at Bibleway Church located at 1100 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. to organize the District of Columbia (DC) Chapter Fayetteville State University National Alumni Association in June 1944. Alexander Barnes, Allen Baker, Lillie Bates, Roxie Fowler, Estelle Frye, Weldon Freeman, Alexander McMillian, James Newton, Lucille Phillips, and Virginia Smith were present. The following individuals were elected as officers, Alexander Barnes, President, Roxie Fowler, Recording Secretary, and Alexander McMillian, Treasurer. This Chapter was interested in developing a spirit of cooperation and loyalty among alumni in the Washington Metropolitan Area and promoting and supporting the general welfare of Fayetteville State University.

The Chapter met monthly in the various homes of its members from 1944 to 1983. The meetings have been held in rental space or at locations donated by local private, state, or Government agencies since 1984 to the present time. It is important to note that the individuals who subsequently served in the capacity as President after Alexander Barnes. They are Allen Baker, James Newton, Milton Boddie, Lester Brown, Joan McIver, Portia Moore, Rosetta Parker, James Baldwin, Mary Farmer, James Ivery, Dorine Adams, Charles Worthy, Kendrick Faison, Ricky Lawrence, and Michael Holly. The current President is Maynard Smith.

The DC Chapter has been very active in all of the affairs and functions of the Fayetteville State University National Alumni Association and is considered the “Flagship” chapter. Several of the alumni members of the chapter have been elected national offices and include Alexander Barnes, National President, Charles Mumford, 2nd Vice President, James Baldwin, Financial Secretary and Parliamentarian and Kendrick Faison, 1st Vice President. The title of “Fayetteville State University National Alumni Association Queen,” has been held by Roxie Fowler, Lucille Phillips, Rosetta Parker, Nadyne Gilbert, and Brenda Thomas and they successfully raised and submitted the largest amount of money to National Alumni Association.

This Chapter throughout the years has supported and provided scholarships to students in the Washington Metropolitan Area who attended Fayetteville State University by sponsoring an array of fund-raising activities, dinner dances, raffles, crab feasts, and fashion shows. The DC Chapter has contributed over $180,000 to the Fayetteville State University Scholarship Program. The DC Chapter is committed to accomplishing the goals and objectives of the National Alumni Association and will continue to be a viable force in supporting Fayetteville State University in future years.

Help Us Reach Our Goal


Contribution To Our Endowment Campaign